Your customers will receive an email and SMS at various events such as:
- The start of the Subscription.
- When a payment is successfully charged.
- When a payment fails.
- Action required by the customer in the event of a payment failure
- When the card linked to a Subscription is changed or updated.
- When a Subscription is moved to the
haltedstate post 3 retry attempts of payment failure.
- When a Subscription is cancelled.
- When the details of a Subscription (such as plan, quantity or billing frequency) are updated.
Razorpay sends emails and SMS to customers at 8 different stages during the life cycle of a Subscription.
An email and SMS is sent when you create and send a new Subscription link to a customer to make the authentication payment. The authenticated amount depends on the
upfront_amount for the Subscriptions.
An email and SMS is sent after the customer successfully makes the authentication payment.
An email and SMS is sent when we make a successful automated charge on the Subscription as per the billing cycle.
An email and SMS is sent to the customer when the Subscription moves to the
completed state. There is no notification sent if the Subscription moves to the same state. This is because the Subscription is already in the
completed state, and a charge was made on an older invoice.
An email and SMS is sent when a charge on a card fails. When an automated charge on a Subscription fails, we retry an auto-charge on the card. If the retries are not exhausted, the Subscription moves to the
pending state. We send out a notification (email and SMS) every time the Subscription moves to the
pending state. The email and SMS contains an Update Card option for the customer to change the card details associated with the Subscription.
An email and SMS is sent whenever a customer changes the card details associated with the Subscription. This notification notifies the customer that their new card details are now successfully updated.
An email and SMS is sent when a manual charge is made on an old Subscription invoice (either by you or the customer). If the Subscription was in the
halted state, we also mention that the Subscription is now
active, and we will resume the automated charges from the next cycle onwards in the notification.
When an automated charge on a Subscription fails, we retry an auto-charge on the card. When all the retries are exhausted, it moves to the
halted state. We send out a notification (email and SMS) every time the Subscription moves to the
halted state. These notifications contain the Update Card option to change the card linked to the Subscription.
An email and SMS is sent when the Subscription moves to the
cancelled state. This happens because either you or your customer cancelled the Subscription.
An email and SMS is sent when the Subscription is successfully updated. There is no state change when a Subscription is updated.